I’ve been in Japan for the last eight months, so though I still end up spending many hours in front of my computer, somehow whenever I think about writing up something for this blog or even post a few words on the Glorious Trainwrecks stuff I’ve been making, it makes me hypersensitive to the fact that I’ve holed myself up in a room in Tokyo, a city within whose limits I’d be happy to be just about anywhere at any time and I make myself go hop on a train or get some ramen or something.

But here’s a short update on what I’ve been doing with games lately, mostly my most recent, and I think the best thing I’ve done since Caverns of Khron:

screenshot552

This is the most recent game I’ve made, called Super Stone Ball, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.  It’s the product of my continued interest in exploring what I can do with fairly traditional platformer mechanics, thoughts on how the player can build things in the game world, and, like many things I’ve made, my continued obsession with Lemmings.  It also cannibalizes a lot of the sound effects I made for the never-finished sound-enabled About a Ball game.

It’s small, musicless, and I made it in about 4 hours.  Eight stages that scale up in difficulty.  Like everything I make, it’s for Windows. Download it at Glorious Trainwrecks!

Other games I’ve made in the last few months:

 

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

Leave a Reply

