Most of my work in Game Maker lately has been tweaking and finishing Caverns of Khron, which I’m hoping to release within the next couple weeks (before I move to Japan for a year!) and sketching plans for an untitled mermaid game.  I haven’t participated in a Glorious Trainwrecks event since June.  So though I missed the Klik of the Month Klub no. 62 on Saturday, I spent a couple hours Tuesday night realizing a vague plan for a game I’ve been contemplating for a few months, one where protection is granted in exchange for sacrificing movement.

Enter Shellmar’s Shellulous Journey, a new mascot platformer for the PC!

I didn’t implement all of my ideas in this version, but the core idea is there.  Initially, Shellmar was going to have a cannon on his back he could use to thwart enemies who targeted him, but for a quickie implementation of the concept, I think this worked more or less well.  The collission detection with the bullets and platforms mayb e a little unkind, and I may offer an update soon.  But I’m fairly satisfied with this.

Download at the game’s page at Glorious Trainwrecks

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

Leave a Reply

