It began in January and I’ve been refining and creating levels since.  My first major game release is coming soon, targeted for release as freeware by the end of July.

I’ve drawn heavy inspiration from quite a few games, but most especially Monuments of Mars and Zelda II: The Adventure of Link.  Though the game has pretty simple basic elements (the player character can jump, swing a sword, and toss throwing stars), my goal has been to execute a relatively simple set of actions with sharp and polished level design.  I’m hoping that’s what I’ve accomplished.

The image above shows off unfinished background graphics.  Adding that coat of paint is to be my last phase of working on the game, as knowing where my platforms, doors, and switches are located has been my primary focus.  There will be over 40 stages in all.

I’m pleased to report that my friend WiL Whitlark is providing the game’s soundtrack.  WiL has worked with me in scoring my feature film, Legends of Minigolf: The Flamingo’s Challenge, as well as numerous short films, including The Mustache and The Importance of Tolerance.

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

Leave a Reply

