Three friends decided to take a semester’s break from their busy college schedules, to regroup and recalibrate their energies. Still, they did not wish to let their sharp minds dull. As such, they enjoyed meeting to discuss art, literature, and other academic pursuits.

“Hey, Jake,” Ben said. “What you reading now?”

“As we discussed,” said Jake, “I just recently finished reading Goethe’s Faust.” Ben and Dave both nodded. “So I haven’t really started anything yet. But I think I’m going to tackle this next,” he indicated the volume on the table.

“Dude,” said Dave, suddenly smiling, “Is that title 26–?”

“Damn straight! It’s the United States Tax Code.” said Jake. “Y’know, I’ve been meaning to get around to it for a while.”

“I picked up a copy of last Fall but still haven’t cracked it,” said Ben.

“It’s apparently a tough one to crack,” said Jake.

“I don’t think I’d want to read it cover-to-cover,” said Ben, “but there are certainly some sections I’d like to read.”

“Like?” asked Dave.

“Section 501,” Ben grinned with a knowing tone.

“Dude! Non-profits?” Dave said, sitting up in his chair.

“You know it!” Ben replied. They high-fived.

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

3 responses »

  1. A tome of such byzantine legalese would doubtless dull, not sharpen, the wits of these youthful scholars; still, the 501 is not without its appeal. And BTW, Goethe’s Faust is rhymed! Damn you Seuss!

  2. I appreciate your comments, Mr. the Fiddler, though I would prefer you not speak ill of the magnificent Dr. Seuss.

  3. For speakers of English, Seuss ruined rhyme as a legitimate feature of poetry–you know this is true.

Leave a Reply

