Friday, I unveiled my first game effort, a small affair titled About a Ball. That was a test run for what will be my first major game project in six years. My plan is to complete at least one major title by year’s end.

I have three major ideas right now (all platformers) that I’ve begun development on. Presently, the one I’m most interested in (and most confident in my ability to develop at this point) is a project I’m tentatively calling “Demon Essence.”


(Concept art; player character in center)
In the game, you would play a demon who sucks the life essence out of demons and other creatures, increasing your size as you absorb more, as you tear your way through the underworld. I’ve already modified the About a Ball engine to account for the transformations and the essence-stealing.

As I progress on this project, I’ll post updates here.

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

4 responses »

  1. Brian says:

    Kick, buddy.I started looking into this toy myself. Started plotting out my own game. Two ideas, one I call Moodswing. A game that builds itself based on the current mood of the player. And the other.. doesn’t have a working name yet. But I lovingly call it, Physics Schmysics. A game where your character defines the physics the game runs off of based on his actions.Brian

  2. Yarjka says:

    I look forward to this game with great expectations.

  3. Logan says:

    Games where you can change the physics are better games.

  4. While I might disagree with the implication that player-atlered-physics games are automatically better, it can most certainly be a fun mechanic. Part of this game will be figuring out what transformation to assume in which area, as each will have its own size, weight, speed, and other variables.

Leave a Reply

