Marty sat across from the man in the brown suit and the brown mustache, who was glancing through Marty’s resumé yet again. Marty suspected that the man had developed this as a nervous habit to fill the gaps in conversation. Marty also suspected that the man was unsure of his own suitability as a manager of this retail outlet.

“Well, Marty,” the man said, glancing at the resumé again, “I tink I can tell you things look good. Before we make our final decision, is there anything you think we should know about you?”

“Now that you mention it,” Marty replied, “you should probably know that I reject the concept of Wednesday.”

“Oh,” the man frowned, but snapped it into a tolerant smile, “is that a religious thing?”

“No. It’s a philosophical thing.”

“So you can’t work Wednesdays?” the man reached for a blue pen.

“No,” Marty shook his head. “I am available to work on Wednesdays, like any other day. Though I reject the concept of Wednesday, I still exist every Wednesday. As much as I might object, I have no say in the matter. Since I apparently must exist on Wednesdays, I see no reason to take them off. Schedule me on Wednesday as you will.”

“I see,” the man said, though he clearly did not. “May I ask you what you have against the concept of Wednesday?”

“It’s Wednesday,” Marty intoned. “If you require more than that to understand, it would be a waste of time for the both of us for me to try to explain.”

“I see,” repeated the man. The interview had come to an end. They shook their hands and went their respective ways.

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

3 responses »

  1. Yarjka says:

    I wonder if he’ll get the job.I also want to get him a copy of the Dr. Seuss classic “Wacky Wednesday.”

  2. “They shook their hands and went their respective ways.” This line leads me to believe, that ne’er their twain paths shall again meet. Were I, however, in a position to offer a job to a man whose philosophy is so utterly beyond reproach, he would have this job and more–my very life would be forfeit to him.

  3. Yarjka says:

    Yes, in my mind, though, the interviewer thinks this over and comes to a realization that Marty is a uniquely qualified individual that would be a great asset to the team.

Leave a Reply

