My friend William has recently scaled back his blogging from daily to weekdaily. I was thinking about joining him, but instead I have decided to continue on and just kind of slack off on the weekends. So, I present to you one of those meme things in which I respond to questions about myself, my feelings, and my future based on the songs that turn up when I hit “Random Play All” on my MP3 player. WiL cryptically tagged me about a month ago.

IF SOMEONE SAYS “IS THIS OKAY” YOU SAY?
“My Favorite Mutiny” by The Coup featuring Black Thought and Talib Kweli. Hey, if you want a revolution, you can count me in.

WHAT WOULD BEST DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONALITY?
“Blue Hawaii” by Frank Sinatra. I can’t even begin to interpret this.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A GUY/GIRL?
“U Don’t Dans 2 Tekno Anymore” by Alabama 3. Seriously. Honey, ou can have a wild, craven, ecstasy-fueled past, but it damn well better be in the past.

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE?
“Blues in My Shower” by Nat “King” Cole. That’s… pretty sad.

WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO?
“My Beautiful Sun (Irene)” by the pillows. As the first line states, “I need you, my beautiful sun.”

WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU?
“Last Living Souls” by Gorillaz. Huh.

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN?
“2300 Jackson Street” by the Jacksons. Seriously, is that where they lived? That’s pretty cool. I have a friend who grew up on a street named after his family. Wonder if you get funny looks when you tell people where you live. Indeed. These questions haunt my every waking moment.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND?
“Judgment On” by Tsutchie (Samurai Champloo OST). So true. I am such a judgmental prick.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
“Head Held High” by The Velvet Underground. What can I say? I’m attracted to confidence and composure.

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY?
“Between the Bars” by Elliott Smith. Oh, man. That’s just tragic.

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP?
“Night in the City” by Electric Light Orchestra. I will be Batman.

WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE?
“Angel, Won’t You Call Me?” by The Decemberists. Oh, dude, seriously.

WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU?
“Better Make It Better” by Swing Out Sister. Yeah, my parents aren’t overwhelmingly impressed with what I’ve done with my life.

WHAT WILL YOU DANCE TO AT YOUR WEDDING?
“The Shadow of Your Smile” by Frank Sinatra. It’s pretty melancholy, but if there’s one thing I want at my wedding, it’s melancholy.

WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL?
“Farewell Blues” (Alternate Take) by Yoko Kanno and SEATBELTS. I could only be so awesome.

WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST?
“Dry Your Eyes” by The Streets. I just love getting myself into situations where I cry, because there’s nothing I enjoy more than drying them tears. (But seriously, I was thinking about this very song earlier this afternoon. Crazy!)

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET?
“Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” by Chicago. Indeed, despite my nervous, anxiety-driven exterior, deep underneath I embrace a very zen kind of philosophy.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS?
“The First Hawaiian” by Hawaiian Style Band. Actually, I don’t presently have any close Polynesian friends. This answer is too cryptic for me.

WHAT’S THE WORST THING THAT COULD HAPPEN?
“Pretty (Ugly Before)” by Elliott Smith. Huh? It’s a pretty great song. But… huh?

HOW WILL YOU DIE?
“Chicago” by Sufjan Stevens. Okay. I’ll just avoid the Windy City, Cubs fans, and deep-dish pizzas. And Barack Obama?

WHAT IS THE ONE THING YOU REGRET?
“Forever For Her (Is Over for Me)” by The White Stripes. OH GAWD.

WHAT MAKES YOU LAUGH?
“Clementine” by Elliott Smith. I’m kinda sick that way.

WHAT MAKES YOU CRY?
“Wake Me Up” by Norah Jones. Well, this is a pretty sad song. In fact, the lyrics even mention sad songs. What a sad song.

WILL YOU EVER GET MARRIED?
“Not Gonna Change” by Swing Out Sister. This does not bode well.

WHAT SCARES YOU THE MOST?
“Main Theme from The Importance of Tolerance” by WiL Whitlark. Huh.

DOES ANYONE LIKE YOU?
“Steam Engenius” by Modest Mouse. Reply hazy. Try again?

IF YOU COULD GO BACK IN TIME, WHAT WOULD YOU CHANGE?
“The First Noel” by Sergio Franchi. I had no idea I harbored that much hostility toward Christianity.

WHAT HURTS RIGHT NOW?
“Healthy Choice” by Jon Brion (Punch-Drunk Love soundtrack). Yeah, I should probably eat better. And go to Hawaii more often.

That was silly. It will not be a continuing feature of this blog.

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

One response »

  1. Logan says:

    Typical blog nonsense, yes, but the commentary makes or breaks it.

Leave a Reply

