We join our two lovers near the climax of this, their love story.  After a 
major, emotional fight, ERIC has left his home in New York City to take a promotion
supervising a new corporate training facility in Denver. He sits alone at his desk
in his new, sparsely decorated office.

MEGAN, a professional wunderkind and supervising consultant for one of the world's
foremost fashion magazines, sits in a meeting in her office, editors arguing in the
background as she stares out the rain-splattered window, a couple dozen stories off
the ground. A glint of revelation comes over her eyes. She shoos the other
professionals out of the office and picks up her phone, dialing urgently.

MEGAN
I love you so much! I wish I could see you
right now!

ERIC
Oh, my God! Me too! I can't believe we ever
thought we could live without each other!

MEGAN
I know! I wish you were here with me, right
now. I want to hold you.

ERIC
Hold on. I'll hop on a plan and I can be
there in three hours.

MEGAN
Oh, honey!

ERIC
I love you!

MEGAN
I love you, too!

They end their call so he can get to the airport. Megan, smiling contentedly,
shuffles some paper on her desk. She's beaming.

Her reverie is interrupted by a ring on her phone. She picks up.

ERIC
Hey. Okay, well, I guess I don't know much
about how the air traffic system works. Do
you want to meet me at the airport tomorrow
at nine? Yeah, in the morning. If that works,
they say they've got like one seat left, so
I need to know, like, right now.
About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

2 responses »

  1. Thirdmango says:

    Brilliant. Pure Brilliance.

  2. This is so true, that my groin hurt just reading it. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

