A blogger I read regularly recently mentioned that he does not have very many readers at all. That struck me as a shame, so I decided I’d take it upon myself to refer my (admittedly meager) audience through to some blogs that deserve readership.

  • Kaiju Shakedown. In January, the sun seemed to have set on Asian entertainment coverage, as New York Asian Film Festival organizer Grady Hendrix’s Kaiju Shakedown closed its doors. Yet hark! the sun has once again risen as the blog has returned as part of Variety Asia’s site. If you like a good deal of snark delivered alongside American DVD sales analyses and pictures of Darth Kitty, be sure to check it out.
  • The Golden Rock. While Kaiju Shakedown was missing, I discovered this blog, covering Asian entertainment news with keen attention paid to box office reports with a healthy dose of the author’s (LMFDean9 of LoveHKFilm.com) welcome personal slant. He also takes it upon himself to round up early word on various productions from Hong Kong, Korea, and Japan.
  • DINOSAUR JOE. After a hiatus, Dinosaur Joe is at it again. It’s a thoroughly entertaining blog written by a friend of mine. I’m a regular commenter, posting as “Vincent.”
  • The Comics Curmudgeon. At long last, my on-again-off-again obsession with the typically bland newspaper comics feels validated.
  • The Grammar Vandal. Kate lives in Massachusetts and has the cojones to do something I’ve long fantasized about. She patrols the mean streets with a marker in purse, ready to correct the abundant grammatical, spelling, and punctuation mistakes on the signage of businesses. A hero for our times.
  • Dinosaur Comics. Okay, so this is actually a webcomic, but it updates more consistently than most blogs and it’s obscenely funny.
About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

2 responses »

  1. Thirdmango says:

    You need to give me your rss feed, cause I keep forgetting you have a blog since I use my reader too much.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out. I’m glad you continue to enjoy the blog in the future.

Leave a Reply

