There are few things worse than having the creative process stymied by technical difficulties and restrictions. Far too much of my time over the last couple days has been spent fiddling with video codecs and compression, trying to get various programs to do what I want them to do. Yet, finally, I have arrived at a satisfactory cut of The Frog Prince, provided I can properly get it onto a DVD. Once it premiers on Wednesday, I’ll post a copy online. So, ahem, stay tooned current with frequent returns to this website.

As I mentioned in my last post, there are a couple other film projects underway. Additionally, I’ve returned to preproduction work on my next animated short, untouched since I last did some character design and rough storyboards over a year ago, though I’m currently touching up what I think is likely my final draft of the script. It, too, is a re-interpretive spin on a classic fairy tale. Ideally, I’d like to produce a third short in this vein, effecting a trilogy. That third idea just hasn’t come, though, which is all the more impetus to read more fairy tales, as I always mean to do.

Once this next short is wrapped, I’m going to return to working on the animated series WiL in earnest. The project began nearly four years ago, stopping and starting in several bursts over the years, and needs some story issues resolved before I can move too far with it. The first episode of the planned ten episode season is almost fully animated, though. With any luck, I might be able to start getting them online by the end of the year. We’ll see, though.

In working on The Frog Prince, I thought it might be fun to put it under a Bombdotcom Animation label in addition to/instead of the usual Bombdotcom Productions. I worked up a logo and began animating a studio tag for it. However, I ultimately decided it was too frivolous and perhaps a mite pretentious (Bombdotcom Animation Studios is a name bigger than the actual “studio”). I did like what I drew for it, though, so it’s below:

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

Leave a Reply

