So, right now, I’m watching The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson. During his monologue, he made a joke about combining Rocky VI with a newJaws sequel. I made the same joke into a Photoshop image three years ago. Not that I’m accusing him of cribbing or anything. I doubt I’m the first one to make such a joke. Regardless, it was a funny coincidence.

Over the weekend, I saw Akeelah and the Bee. While it fell into a few too many of the tired old plot devices of uplifting films, it was overall very well executed. Keke Palmer is a fantastic actress. She carried the film as deftly as any accomplished actor. I’d recommend checking it out. Not that I saw it, but I sincerely doubt Mission: Impossible III could possibly have been better.

There was a terrible omission in my post about the most anticipated films this year. Naturally, I’m referring to Snakes On a Plane. Initially, I found the craze amusing. Then New Line ordered reshoots so Samuel L. Jackson could say things like “motherfucking snakes” and “motherfucking plane.” Now I actually want to see the damn thing.

I’ve rediscovered The Beatles. “Abbey Road” is a brilliant album. When I was a junior in high school, almost all I listened to was this compilation of early Beatles tracks. The next year, all I listened to was Frank Sinatra, with a little Dean Martin and Nat King Cole thrown into the mix. I had sworn off rock. A couple years later, Elliott Smith and the Velvet Underground would pull me out of that misguided conviction.

I’d better end this thing. Else who knows when it will stop?

About John D. Moore

Writer, cartoonist, filmmaker, and student of Japanese language, literature, and cinema at the University of Utah.

Leave a Reply

